June Middle Grade Book Club: Boys of Blur by N.D. Wilson

June Middle Grade Book Club: Boys of Blur by N.D. Wilson

Wednesday Jun 04, 2014
5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]
1111 8th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11215



Ages 9-12

For more information, please call 718-801-8375

RSVP appreciated: RSVP@POWERHOUSEon8th.com


Kids’ book blogger Jordan B. Nielsen of TheRustyKey.com will host a discussion hour based on the chapter book of the month. Club members will receive a 15% discount on each month’s selected book. June’s selection is Boys of Blur by N.D. Wilson

 

About Boys of Blur:

Fans of Jerry Spinelli’s Maniac Magee and Louis Sachar’s Holes will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City.

When Charlie moves to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different world. Pinned between the everglades and the swampy banks of Lake Okeechobee, the small town produces sugar cane…and the fastest runners in the country. Kids chase muck rabbits in the fields while the cane is being burned and harvested. Dodging flames and blades and breathing smoke, they run down the rabbits for three dollars a skin. And when they can do that, running a football is easy.

But there are things in the swamp, roaming the cane at night, that cannot be explained, and they seem connected to sprawling mounds older than the swamps. Together with his step-second cousin “Cotton” Mack, the fastest boy on the muck, Charlie hunts secrets in the glades and on the muck flats where the cane grows secrets as old as the soft earth, secrets that haunted, tripped, and trapped the original native tribes, ensnared conquistadors, and buried runaway slaves. Secrets only the muck knows.

 

 

About the Author:

N. D. WILSON lives in Idaho with his wife and their five young explorers.


 

 

RSVP

Bookings are closed for this event.