Sunday Story Time with Mark Siegel (Illustrator of Oskar and the Eight Blessings)

Sunday Story Time with Mark Siegel (Illustrator of Oskar and the Eight Blessings)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A refugee seeking sanctuary from the horrors of Kristallnacht, Oskar arrives by ship in New York City with only a photograph and an address for an aunt he has never met. It is both the seventh day of Hanukkah and Christmas Eve, 1938. As Oskar walks the length of Manhattan, from the Battery to his new home in the north of the city, he passes experiences the city’s many holiday sights, and encounters it various residents. Each offers Oskar a small act of kindness, welcoming him to the city and helping him on his way to a new life in the new world. This is a heartwarming, timeless picture book.

Middle Grade Book Club: The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero

Middle Grade Book Club: The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Our kids book buyer Jordan B. Nielsen will host a discussion hour based on The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero, In the vein of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and Number the Stars, this fusion of fairy tales, folklore, and World War II history eloquently illustrates the power of love and the inherent will to survive even in the darkest of times.

Club members will receive a 15% discount on each month’s selected books. For more information, please contact Jordan Nielsen at Jordan@powerhouseon8th.com.

POW! Author Visit: Baby to Big by Rajiv Fernandez

POW! Author Visit: Baby to Big by Rajiv Fernandez

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Baby to Big is a high concept board book that translates familiar objects and ideas from a baby’s world to that of their hip millennial adult counterparts, through bold, iconic images.

Sunday Story Time with Daniel Kibblesmith & AP Quach (Author & Illustrator of Santa's Husband)

Sunday Story Time with Daniel Kibblesmith & AP Quach (Author & Illustrator of Santa's Husband)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Humor writer Daniel Kibblesmith gives us a glimpse into the lives of Mr. and Mr. Claus as they sit by the fire in their cozy home at the North Pole, vacation at the beach, and celebrate their wedding day with Rudolph, Frosty the Snowman, the Tooth Fairy, and their many other friends. Though they sometimes have their disagreements, they share mutual love and respect and a fondness for milk and cookies.

Sunday Story Time with Christopher Silas Neal (Author & Illustrator of I Won't Eat That)

Sunday Story Time with Christopher Silas Neal (Author & Illustrator of I Won't Eat That)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Cat is very hungry. But cat food is dry and dull and not at all yummy. So what in the world should Cat eat instead? Turtle eats worms, but worms are too wiggly. Fox eats rabbits, but rabbits are too bouncy. What everyone else loves to eat is thoroughly unappetizing to Cat. Until, by chance, the thing Cat really wants to eat appears right in front of him. What could it be?