Sunday Story Time with Andy Maxwell (Author of Once Upon a Slime)

Sunday Story Time with Andy Maxwell (Author of Once Upon a Slime)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Once upon a time–gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They’re next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs…they’re all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?

Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that’s positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

Sunday Story Time with Todd Tarpley (Author of Three Grumpy Trucks)

Sunday Story Time with Todd Tarpley (Author of Three Grumpy Trucks)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Whirr! Whomp! Grind! Chomp! How long can three busy trucks keep it up before…MELTDOWN? Three toy trucks have big plans for their day at the playground: digging and lifting, building and shifting. But then they start to get tired…and hot…and hungry….They’re GRUMPY! When they throw a total truck tantrum, will anyone be able to calm them down?

Kids (and parents) may just recognize themselves in this entertaining take on getting grouchy—and getting over it. The lighthearted, rhythmic text will have young readers chanting along, and the bright and buoyant illustrations of the trucks’ looming meltdown will keep them giggling!

Sunday Story Time with David Quinn (Author of Go to Sleep, Little Creep)

Sunday Story Time with David Quinn (Author of Go to Sleep, Little Creep)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

With rhymes, humor, and heart, Go to Sleep, Little Creep by David Quinn is a wonderful bedtime addition for the “little monster” in your life. Even monsters have to go to sleep. But before little trolls turn out the light and werewolves settle in to dream, there’s fur to be brushed, pajamas to find, and moons that need howling. So grab your cuddly critter and snuggle in for this new bedtime tradition.

POW! Sunday Story Time with Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator of Lucia the Luchadora and the Million Masks)

POW! Sunday Story Time with Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator of Lucia the Luchadora and the Million Masks)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Lucía the Luchadora returns in a new adventure!

Lucía’s little sister Gemma wants to be a luchadora like her, but she is more bumble and splat than pizzazz, and seems to find trouble wherever she goes. When Gemma makes a ginormous hole in her big sister’s special silver mask, Lucía is exasperated at how she seems to get away with everything. But a trip to the mercado with Abuela presents the sparring sisters with a dazzling array of possibilities: MORE masks and identities to explore! When Lucía realizes she’s misplaced her special silver mask, a frantic search ensues with Gemma’s help, and Lucía discovers that some things, including troublemaking little sisters, are one of a kind.

Sunday Story Time with Caroline Hadilaksono (Author & Illustrator of Surprise!)

Sunday Story Time with Caroline Hadilaksono (Author & Illustrator of Surprise!)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Bear, Squirrel, and Raccoon have been friends a long time. A loooooooong time. So when a family of city folks comes to the neighborhood, the friends think that a surprise welcome party is just the kind of fun they’ve been looking for. Well, the party turns out to be quite the surprise indeed, but maybe not exactly what Bear, Squirrel, and Raccoon were imagining?

Laugh-out-loud fun for friends and families of all species!

Sunday Story Time with Alexandra Penfold (Author of All Are Welcome)

Sunday Story Time with Alexandra Penfold (Author of All Are Welcome)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Follow a group of children through a day in their school, where everyone is welcomed with open arms. A school where kids in patkas, hijabs, and yarmulkes play side-by-side with friends in baseball caps. A school where students grow and learn from each other’s traditions and the whole community gathers to celebrate the Lunar New Year. All Are Welcome lets young children know that no matter what, they have a place, they have a space, they are welcome in their school.

Sunday Story Time with Jenna Lettice (Author of The 12 Days of Thanksgiving)

Sunday Story Time with Jenna Lettice (Author of The 12 Days of Thanksgiving)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

How many days till Thanksgiving?! Young readers will love counting down with The 12 Days of Thanksgiving, a cumulative rhyming storybook based on “The 12 Days of Christmas.” This festive story starts with ONE cozy evening at home, then adds TWO sacks of apples, THREE fall squash, and so on through twelve busy days leading up to Thanksgiving. Young readers and their parents will enjoy counting all the details of the fun preparation for the big family feast. Plus, the book includes stickers—perfect treats for the twelve days!

Sunday Story Time with Rachael Cole (Author of Mousie, I Will Read to You)

Sunday Story Time with Rachael Cole (Author of Mousie, I Will Read to You)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

When Mousie is little, Mama sings him lullabies about the sky, repeats back his DA DA DEES and BA BA BEES, and reads him poems and stories about wonderful things like forests and bears. Then one day, on a playground next to the library, Mousie sounds out a word, then two, then three…and a reader is born!

Sunday Story Time with Lisa Lucas (Author of Spectacularly Beautiful)

Sunday Story Time with Lisa Lucas (Author of Spectacularly Beautiful)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Spectacularly Beautiful tells the story of Shahad, a refugee who has moved to a new country and started at a new school with her new teacher, Ms. Truong. Shahad comes to school every day with perfectly braided hair tied in ribbons. But her hair can’t hide the scars on her face and leg that are painful reminders of the country she fled, making her feel less than beautiful, and different from her peers. When a class project proves difficult for Shahad, Ms. Truong helps her come to see that her scars are only part of her story, and that she is not just beautiful…she is spectacularly beautiful. Little by little Shahad’s confidence is renewed and she is able to return the same kindness to Ms. Truong.