Sunday Story Time with Sophie Blackall (Author & Illustrator of Hello Lighthouse)

Sunday Story Time with Sophie Blackall (Author & Illustrator of Hello Lighthouse)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Acclaimed artist Sophie Blackall brought history to life with her artwork for #1 New York Times bestseller Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, winner of the 2016 Caldecott Medal, the most prestigious honor a children’s book illustrator can receive. It now gives us great pleasure to share her most recent masterpiece, Hello Lighthouse, which transports us to a wondrous lighthouse by the sea.

Sunday Story Time with Sandy Shapiro-Hurt & Xindi Yan (Author & Illustrator of Sylvia Rose and the Cherry Tree)

Sunday Story Time with Sandy Shapiro-Hurt & Xindi Yan (Author & Illustrator of Sylvia Rose and the Cherry Tree)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Bold and adventurous Sylvia Rose loves visiting the animals and trees of the forest. Sylvia and her favorite cherry tree share almost everything, including dancing and stories, but they can’t travel the world together because the tree is rooted deep in the earth. Determined to overcome this obstacle, Sylvia Rose enlists her animal friends to uproot the glorious tree and they set off globetrotting together, taking in the wonders of the world from the Eiffel Tower to the Sydney Opera House, each sight more amazing than the last.

Back home in the forest, however, the animals begin to suffer without the food and shelter of their life-sustaining cherry tree. Can the tree give up her newfound freedom and return to her role in the forest ecosystem?

Sunday Story Time with Carin Berger (Author & Illustrator of All of Us)

Sunday Story Time with Carin Berger (Author & Illustrator of All of Us)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Award-winning illustrator Carin Berger’s beautiful and timely picture book celebrates the power of community, family, and most of all, love. Her beautiful collage art and lyrical text offer a message of hope in the face of adversity.

All of Us is ideal for family sharing as well as year-round giving and is for fans of Nancy’s Tillman’s Wherever You Are and Alison McGhee’s Someday.

Joint Sunday Story Time with Galia Bernstein (Author & Illustrator of I Am a Cat) & Rhonda Leet (Author of Franny's Father is a Feminist)

Joint Sunday Story Time with Galia Bernstein (Author & Illustrator of I Am a Cat) & Rhonda Leet (Author of Franny's Father is a Feminist)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A simple housecat named Simon encounters some bigger cats: Lion, Puma, Panther, Tiger, and Cheetah. Each of the big cats has something to say about Simon not being “cat” enough. According to them, he just doesn’t measure up. He doesn’t have Lion’s mane or Cheetah’s spots. He doesn’t sleep in trees like Panther or climb mountains like Puma. He’s small and fuzzy, not big and strong. But ultimately, Simon shows the big cats that he’s just like them . . . only smaller. A celebration of both individuality and community, I AM A CAT is a strong debut that shows we’re all more alike than we think . . . if we look closely enough.

Sunday Story Time with Jessica Olien (Author & Illustrator of Right Now)

Sunday Story Time with Jessica Olien (Author & Illustrator of Right Now)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A beautifully lyrical and inspirational picture book about being present and loving who you are, from Jessica Olien, the author/illustrator of Adrift, The Blobfish Book, and Shark Detective.

What are you? You’re big and small and loud and quiet. You are right now. And you are perfect. This book is a touching ode to the importance of individuality, respect, and self-love.

Sunday Story Time with Samantha Berger (Author of Snail Mail)

Sunday Story Time with Samantha Berger (Author of Snail Mail)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Snail Mail’s story encourages kids to approach life with determination and wonder, and Julia Patton’s rich illustrations showcase America’s diverse terrain and national monuments from coast to coast. Kids and parents alike will delight in this celebration of America’s beauty and the power of a simple handwritten letter.

Sunday Story Time with Jackie Azua Kramer (Author of If You Want to Fall Asleep)

Sunday Story Time with Jackie Azua Kramer (Author of If You Want to Fall Asleep)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A sweet story about going to bed and falling asleep.

It’s bedtime, but Little Mouse isn’t sleepy. He has tried reading, and snacking, and snuggling, but nothing is helping him fall asleep. Maybe Mama Mouse can help? If you want to fall asleep, what do you do? A wish and a hug and it’s finally time to dream. A lyrical bedtime story for sleepy little mice ages 4 and up.

Sunday Story Time with Priscilla Tey (Author of In-Between Things)

Sunday Story Time with Priscilla Tey (Author of In-Between Things)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Look over there—the cat is between a table and a chair with a tear. But now look again: the cat is on top of the dog, who’s between the floor and the cat (and not too happy about that!). As you wander through the delightfully detailed illustrations, the more you look, the more you’ll see—including colors made from a mix of two others, hybrid implements such as a spork, warm nooks that are neither too cold nor too hot, and even a cross of a zebra and a cow that makes a . . . zebrow? In an utterly stylish debut, rising star Priscilla Tey leads readers on an engaging exploration of the in-between, a concept with surprising reach and depth.

Sunday Story Time with Jason Fulford (Designer of Find Colors and These Colors Are Bananas)

Sunday Story Time with Jason Fulford (Designer of Find Colors and These Colors Are Bananas)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Learning colors is one of the wonders of childhood and author-designers Tamara Shopsin and Jason Fulford turn the concept of colors upside-down and inside-out in two new books. Find Colors and These Colors Are Bananas are the debut titles in an exciting new series that marks the first time the Whitney Museum of American Art has partnered with a children’s publisher to create a line of books.

Sunday Story Time with Loryn Brantz (Author & Illustrator of Feminist Baby Finds Her Voice)

Sunday Story Time with Loryn Brantz (Author & Illustrator of Feminist Baby Finds Her Voice)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

She’s confident, caring, assertive, and accepting of all, which is why adults and children alike fell in love with Feminist Baby by writer and illustrator Loryn Brantz.

Now in the much-anticipated follow-up, FEMINIST BABY FINDS HER VOICE!, our pint-sized heroine, along with new friends in tow, is ready to stand-up and tell the world about just how AWESOME equality and having the freedom to express oneself can be!

Sunday Story Time with Julia Rothman (Illustrator of Brick: Who Found Herself in Architecture)

Sunday Story Time with Julia Rothman (Illustrator of Brick: Who Found Herself in Architecture)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Brick: Who Found Herself in Architecture invites children to join a young brick on her journey to find her place in the world. She travels the globe, visiting a diverse list of brick structures — the Malbork Castle in Poland, Mahabodhi Buddhist Temple in India, Grosvenor Estate apartments in England, the Great Wall in China, and the Park East Synagogue in New York City, among others — all the while pondering where she may best fit.