Upcoming Events

Sunday Story Time with Andy Maxwell (Author of Once Upon a Slime)

Sunday Story Time with Andy Maxwell (Author of Once Upon a Slime)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Once upon a time–gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They’re next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs…they’re all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?

Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that’s positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

Sunday Story Time with Todd Tarpley (Author of Three Grumpy Trucks)

Sunday Story Time with Todd Tarpley (Author of Three Grumpy Trucks)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Whirr! Whomp! Grind! Chomp! How long can three busy trucks keep it up before…MELTDOWN? Three toy trucks have big plans for their day at the playground: digging and lifting, building and shifting. But then they start to get tired…and hot…and hungry….They’re GRUMPY! When they throw a total truck tantrum, will anyone be able to calm them down?

Kids (and parents) may just recognize themselves in this entertaining take on getting grouchy—and getting over it. The lighthearted, rhythmic text will have young readers chanting along, and the bright and buoyant illustrations of the trucks’ looming meltdown will keep them giggling!

Sunday Story Time with David Quinn (Author of Go to Sleep, Little Creep)

Sunday Story Time with David Quinn (Author of Go to Sleep, Little Creep)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

With rhymes, humor, and heart, Go to Sleep, Little Creep by David Quinn is a wonderful bedtime addition for the “little monster” in your life. Even monsters have to go to sleep. But before little trolls turn out the light and werewolves settle in to dream, there’s fur to be brushed, pajamas to find, and moons that need howling. So grab your cuddly critter and snuggle in for this new bedtime tradition.

POW! Sunday Story Time with Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator of Lucia the Luchadora and the Million Masks)

POW! Sunday Story Time with Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator of Lucia the Luchadora and the Million Masks)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Lucía the Luchadora returns in a new adventure!

Lucía’s little sister Gemma wants to be a luchadora like her, but she is more bumble and splat than pizzazz, and seems to find trouble wherever she goes. When Gemma makes a ginormous hole in her big sister’s special silver mask, Lucía is exasperated at how she seems to get away with everything. But a trip to the mercado with Abuela presents the sparring sisters with a dazzling array of possibilities: MORE masks and identities to explore! When Lucía realizes she’s misplaced her special silver mask, a frantic search ensues with Gemma’s help, and Lucía discovers that some things, including troublemaking little sisters, are one of a kind.

Sunday Story Time with Caroline Hadilaksono (Author & Illustrator of Surprise!)

Sunday Story Time with Caroline Hadilaksono (Author & Illustrator of Surprise!)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Bear, Squirrel, and Raccoon have been friends a long time. A loooooooong time. So when a family of city folks comes to the neighborhood, the friends think that a surprise welcome party is just the kind of fun they’ve been looking for. Well, the party turns out to be quite the surprise indeed, but maybe not exactly what Bear, Squirrel, and Raccoon were imagining?

Laugh-out-loud fun for friends and families of all species!

More Events

Call Us

Address

Opening Hours

Mon - Thu: 11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Fri - Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Learn about the Brooklyn Microgrid

 

 

pH on 8th Grand Opening 2
POWERHOUSE on 8th is a bookstore, reading club, mini-gallery, and community space bringing South Slope the best in fiction, non-fiction, kids, YA, novelty, cooking, decorating, stationery, and more, all from the curatorial minds hived at Dumbo’s famed POWERHOUSE ArenaRead our reviews, join our Middle Grade Reading Club, and stop in for Sunday morning readings with children’s book authors. See you on the block! (8th Avenue between 11th and 12th).