Upcoming Events

Sunday Story Time with Sophie Blackall (Author & Illustrator of Hello Lighthouse)

Sunday Story Time with Sophie Blackall (Author & Illustrator of Hello Lighthouse)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Acclaimed artist Sophie Blackall brought history to life with her artwork for #1 New York Times bestseller Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, winner of the 2016 Caldecott Medal, the most prestigious honor a children’s book illustrator can receive. It now gives us great pleasure to share her most recent masterpiece, Hello Lighthouse, which transports us to a wondrous lighthouse by the sea.

Sunday Story Time with Sandy Shapiro-Hurt & Xindi Yan (Author & Illustrator of Sylvia Rose and the Cherry Tree)

Sunday Story Time with Sandy Shapiro-Hurt & Xindi Yan (Author & Illustrator of Sylvia Rose and the Cherry Tree)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Bold and adventurous Sylvia Rose loves visiting the animals and trees of the forest. Sylvia and her favorite cherry tree share almost everything, including dancing and stories, but they can’t travel the world together because the tree is rooted deep in the earth. Determined to overcome this obstacle, Sylvia Rose enlists her animal friends to uproot the glorious tree and they set off globetrotting together, taking in the wonders of the world from the Eiffel Tower to the Sydney Opera House, each sight more amazing than the last.

Back home in the forest, however, the animals begin to suffer without the food and shelter of their life-sustaining cherry tree. Can the tree give up her newfound freedom and return to her role in the forest ecosystem?

Sunday Story Time with Carin Berger (Author & Illustrator of All of Us)

Sunday Story Time with Carin Berger (Author & Illustrator of All of Us)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

Award-winning illustrator Carin Berger’s beautiful and timely picture book celebrates the power of community, family, and most of all, love. Her beautiful collage art and lyrical text offer a message of hope in the face of adversity.

All of Us is ideal for family sharing as well as year-round giving and is for fans of Nancy’s Tillman’s Wherever You Are and Alison McGhee’s Someday.

Joint Sunday Story Time with Galia Bernstein (Author & Illustrator of I Am a Cat) & Rhonda Leet (Author of Franny's Father is a Feminist)

Joint Sunday Story Time with Galia Bernstein (Author & Illustrator of I Am a Cat) & Rhonda Leet (Author of Franny's Father is a Feminist)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A simple housecat named Simon encounters some bigger cats: Lion, Puma, Panther, Tiger, and Cheetah. Each of the big cats has something to say about Simon not being “cat” enough. According to them, he just doesn’t measure up. He doesn’t have Lion’s mane or Cheetah’s spots. He doesn’t sleep in trees like Panther or climb mountains like Puma. He’s small and fuzzy, not big and strong. But ultimately, Simon shows the big cats that he’s just like them . . . only smaller. A celebration of both individuality and community, I AM A CAT is a strong debut that shows we’re all more alike than we think . . . if we look closely enough.

Sunday Story Time with Jessica Olien (Author & Illustrator of Right Now)

Sunday Story Time with Jessica Olien (Author & Illustrator of Right Now)

POWERHOUSE on 8th [Park Slope]

A beautifully lyrical and inspirational picture book about being present and loving who you are, from Jessica Olien, the author/illustrator of Adrift, The Blobfish Book, and Shark Detective.

What are you? You’re big and small and loud and quiet. You are right now. And you are perfect. This book is a touching ode to the importance of individuality, respect, and self-love.

More Events

Call Us

Address

Opening Hours

Mon - Thu: 11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Fri - Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Learn about the Brooklyn Microgrid

treesineverwalkunderEvanSklar3

 

pH on 8th Grand Opening 2
POWERHOUSE on 8th is a brand new bookstore, reading club, mini-gallery, and community space bringing South Slope the best in fiction, non-fiction, kids, YA, novelty, cooking, decorating, stationery, and more, all from the curatorial minds hived at Dumbo’s famed POWERHOUSE ArenaRead our reviews, join our Middle Grade Reading Club, and stop in for Sunday morning readings with children’s book authors. See you on the block! (8th Avenue between 11th and 12th).

WINTER HOURS:

Monday & Tuesday: CLOSED
Wednesday – Friday: 2pm-8pm
Saturday: 10pm-7pm
Sunday: 10pm-6pm